AT THE JUNCTION OF ST KEVIN’S STREET AND STEPHEN STREET
This area is complicated to explore and even more to describe.
Eachlann na gCótaí Gorma is the Irish for Blue Coat Mews and it should be noted that local authorities are responsible for the provision of the correct Irish and English forms of the street names in each area.
This street gets its name from St. Stephen’s School, whose pupils wore a uniform in this ‘bluecoat’ style. There are still a number of private schools in England bearing the same nickname
St Stephen’s Hospital, also known as the Blue Coat Hospital, was a charitable school founded in 1699 by William Worth, merchant, of Dublin, for the benefit of poor boys belonging to the Established church, the Church of Ireland. The Mayor and Common Council of the City of Cork were appointed governors of the school and its endowments. The Church of Ireland Bishop of Cork, Worth and his heirs, and the Provost of Trinity College Dublin, together with the Governors, nominated and chose pupils for the school. By the late 19th century the school and its endowments had been placed under a scheme by the Commissioners of Charitable Donations and Bequests for Ireland, under the Educational Endowments (Ireland) Act, 1885 [the Commissioners as a public body were created in 1845]. In 1916 this scheme was amended and the school was closed, with arrangements made for funding of pupils elsewhere. St Stephen’s was located in the parish of St Nicholas [near Barrack St/Douglas St].