South William Street is one of the more popular streets in Dublin and much of its appeal is due the the number of unique independent shops, restaurants and quirky businesses.
Located in an area once know as the lands of Tib and Tom, South William Street was developed as part of the eastward expansion of the city in the seventeenth century. The immediate area was developed from 1671 by William Williams, a brewer. Despite some late twentieth century interventions, the Georgian street survives more or less intact with its two great legacies comprising the City Assembly House and the adjoining Powerscourt Townhouse which are set alongside one of the most complete surviving groupings of eighteenth century merchants' houses in the city .
At the time of its construction the City Assembly House on South William Street constituted a tremendously advanced initiative as it stood as the first purpose built public art gallery in either Britain and Ireland. It was built by the Society of Artists in Ireland between 1766 and 1771 with the expressed aim of promoting the work of Irish artists and providing an academy for the arts
NOTE: Tib is the ace of trumps, and Tom is the knave of trumps in the game of Gleek an English card game for three persons. It is played with a 44-card pack and was popular from the 16th century through the 18th century.